How To: Steam Open Envelopes

Why would you need to do that? Well if you are like my family you may repeatedly run across putting the wrong combo of inserts or all together forgetting them when stuffing your invitations.

And of course we couldn’t realize this after just sealing the envelope… oh no… we sealed, stamped, calligraphy, and added the embellishment sticker seal (I promise to show pics of the whole suite very soon).

So what do you do?

Steam them open of course!

Now Luke has this saying that goes a little like “Yes, Nora, you win! You are always right!” Nora being my mom of course. Why does he say that? Because as much as I hate to admit it, it’s true. I don’t know how she does it but she is just so freakin’ good at everything she attempts! *peeved inflection fully intended* {I love you mom!} 🙂

So when I realized I needed to steam open about 10 of our invitations, I turned to the internet… I read and prepared and set out to work…

I used a large frying pan like this…

{source}

I started to boil a couple of inches of water. Once the steam started really going, I used metal tongs wrapped with a paper towel (to not mark up the paper) to grip the envelope flap faced down and started steaming it about an inch above the water.

What felt like 5 minutes later I could very slowly and carefully pull the flap up and replace the contents.

It worked but it was time consuming and required a lot of focus not to drop the envelope in the water or tear the paper while peeling…

So about 3 envelopes later my mom walks in and goes, “Use the steamer!” So out she brings her travel steamer…

{source}

And pops those envelopes open without even trying. She literally finished 6 in the time it took me to do my last one. And she didn’t even have to tug at the paper. The glue just melted off.

So anyways we were able to make our changes and seal them back up with a glue stick without anyone being the wiser.

Moral of the story: Moms always know best 🙂

One Response

  1. Ooooh my goodness, I actually used your advise shortly after you posted this.
    JAJA!!

    Hope all is well… miss you!!

Comments are closed.

