Picking Sunflowers

Picture 1

{source}

So we’ve discovered this summer that Sunflowers are indigenous to South Texas and peak right during the last week of May. Never has my dad been so happy about our two acres “ranch”… we’re planting our own flowers!

We are purchasing a large variety of hybrid pollin free sunflower seeds. We’re gonna attempt a test batch this fall to see where our best soil is and then we will plant staggering batches throughout March to ensure the freshest flowers in time for the wedding.

If all goes well, we will spend about half of what was expected and have way more flowers than I ever imagined. Plus dad won’t have to worry about mowing a good plot of the land next spring.

Oh and I’ve fallen in love with these breeds of Sunflowers!

Teddy Bear Sunflower

Teddy Bear Sunflower

Sunflower Starburst

Sunflower Starburst

Sunflower Moonshadow

Sunflower Moonshadow

I’ve also decided to include some silk white peonies in the bouquets.

2 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, I am LOVING the teddy bear sunflower!!

  2. […] remember way back when I mentioned picking our own homegrown sunflowers as a way to say money. Well that […]

Comments are closed.

